Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Ball hitting the Deck – Cricket

If a ball hits the deck or pitch two times before it reaches the batting crease, will it be a dead ball or any thing else ?

Its not a dead a ball, it is a No-Ball.

The rule is if a ball pitches or hits the deck more than once before it reaches the batting crease it will be considered as “No-Ball”.

Ball hitting the deck

 

Different types of cases

  • If at all the ball directly pitches or hits on the batting crease and then if the ball runs or rubs on the soil continuously in the height zero position (Between the ball and pitch), still it will be considered as a fair delivery.

Because the ball has never pitched more than once outside the batting crease and since this condition has fulfilled it doesn’t matter what ever happens inside the crease after pitching like it has ran on the soil continuously in the height zero position.

  • If a ball pitches outside the batting crease for the first time and then hits the deck inside the crease before reaching or hitting the bat, it will be considered as a fair delivery since the ball has never pitched more than once before reaching the batting crease.
  • If a ball pitches outside the batting crease for the first time and then directly hits on the batting crease (line), still it will be considered as a fair delivery since the ball has already reached the batting crease (line) just by hitting the pitch for once outside the crease.

Let the ball hit the pitch for thousand times or run on the soil inside the batting crease, but at the end of the day the ball has to pitch not more than once before reaching out the batting crease.